Home Forums Graphical Scheduler IWX GS Read Only allowing writes

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • Shari BraunShari Braun
      Post count: 2

      I assigned the permission set IWX GS READ ONLY to my users hoping that it would allow them to view the PRODUCTIONORDER view but not drag and drop the production orders. That is not the case. I don’t want to remove write permissions for Production Orders but don’t want users to be able to drag around items in the Graphical Scheduler. Any ideas? I’m, currently, thinking that I will create another PRODUCTIONORDER view for the users that does not allow writes then assign that as the default. I have only one or two users that need to be able to manipulate the items in the Graphical Scheduler. TIA.

      Tim DimsdaleTim Dimsdale
        Post count: 16
        Upvote
        Up
        0
        Down
        Not Helpful
        ::

        The IWX GS READ ONLY permission set controls permissions to Graphical Scheduler itself. For example, users can view existing Graphical Scheduler views, but they cannot modify the Graphical Scheduler configuration or create their own views.

        If you also want to prevent users from changing Production Orders by dragging and dropping them in Graphical Scheduler, there are two approaches:

        1. Remove write permission to the Production Order data in Business Central.
          Use this approach if the users should not be able to modify the Production Orders anywhere in Business Central.
        2. Set the Graphical Scheduler data source to Read Only.
          This is the better option if users should still be able to modify Production Orders elsewhere in Business Central, but should not be able to reschedule them by dragging and dropping in Graphical Scheduler.

        To make a Graphical Scheduler view read-only:

        1. Navigate to Graphical Scheduler.
        2. Select View.
        3. Select the view you want to change, and then choose Edit.
        4. On the Graphical Scheduler View card, find the Configure What Displays In This View section.
        5. Locate the data source that displays your production data.
        6. In the Update Mode column, change Allow Writes to Read Only.

        Setting Update Mode to Read Only prevents users from changing that data through drag-and-drop in Graphical Scheduler. It does not remove their underlying Business Central permissions. If they have permission to modify the Production Order elsewhere in Business Central, they can continue to do so.

        For your scenario, where most users should be able to view the schedule but only one or two users should be able to manipulate it, you can create separate Graphical Scheduler views: a read-only view for most users and a view with Allow Writes for your schedulers. You can then assign the appropriate default view to each user.

        Thanks for the question!

      Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
      • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.